Blog/Guides

AI visibility tools compared, with the criteria stated first

Agentcites
QUESTIONSASSISTANTSTOOLMEASURESUGGESTWRITE

In short

AI visibility tools ask AI assistants the questions your buyers ask and count how often your brand is named. On their own pages, read on 10 October 2026, published starting prices run from $29 a month at OtterlyAI to no public price at Profound, and the number of assistants covered runs from three or four to more than ten. The biggest difference after price is what happens next: some tools only measure, and some write or change pages for you.

What AI visibility tools do, and the criteria used here

AI visibility tools send a set of buyer questions to assistants such as ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini, read the answers, and count which brands are named and which pages are cited. They differ in price, in how many assistants and questions they cover, in how often they check, and in whether they help you fix a loss.

FINDQUESTIONSCHECKACCESSMEASUREEXPLAINLOSSESFIXPAGES
The five jobs an AI visibility tool can do. Most tools on this list do the middle ones, and fewer do the last.

We make Agentcites, which is one of the tools below. Every tool, ours included, is judged on the same criteria, and the criteria come first, before any tool appears. Every fact about another tool is read from that tool’s own page on 10 October 2026 and linked. Where a page does not say something, the table says "Not stated", which means we could not find it, not that the tool lacks it.

The six criteria this comparison uses, why each one matters to a buyer, and where the fact was read.
CriterionWhy it mattersWhere we read it
Published starting priceWhat it costs to start without a sales callEach tool’s pricing page
Assistants coveredYour buyers may use an assistant a tool does not askPricing or product page
Prompts on the entry planMore questions means less swing from a single answerPricing page
How often it checksAnswers change, so frequency shapes what you seePricing page
A free way to startLets you test before payingPricing page
Writes or changes the fixMeasuring a loss is half the jobProduct or help pages

No criterion is weighted. The tools below are ordered by lowest published monthly price, which puts Agentcites fourth of seven.

The seven tools side by side

The table puts the first five criteria in one place. The sixth, whether a tool writes the fix, has its own section further down, because the answers do not fit in a cell.

Seven AI visibility tools on five criteria, each read from the tool’s own page on 10 October 2026. Ordered by lowest published monthly price.
ToolStarting priceAssistants on the entry planPrompts on the entry planHow oftenFree way to start
OtterlyAI$29 a month4, with 3 more as paid add-ons15DailyFree trial
Peec AI$95 a month3, chosen by you50DailyFree trial
Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit$99 a monthNot stated in full25 trackedDay by dayNo free trial
Agentcites$149 a month per website450WeeklyFree first scan, no card
Scrunch$250 a month billed yearly, or $300 monthly7350Not stated7-day trial, no card
AthenaHQFree tier, then $295 a month5 free, 10 or more paid300 credits free, 3,600 paidNot statedFree tier
ProfoundNo public price3 on the trial50 on the trialDaily on the trial7-day trial

AthenaHQ counts credits, and its pricing page says one credit is one AI response. Profound’s paid plan is priced on request.

Each tool, read from its own pages

Each entry says what the tool’s own pages state, where it is ahead, and what we could not find. The order is the same as the table.

OtterlyAI

OtterlyAI’s pricing page lists Lite at $29 a month for 15 prompts, Standard at $189 for 100 and Premium at $489 for 400, with Enterprise from 1,000 prompts. Every plan includes ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, and Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini are paid add-ons. Tracking is daily. API access starts on Standard.

It is the cheapest paid plan in this list, and it covers Google AI Overviews and Copilot, which Agentcites does not ask. Its help centre describes its recommendations as a reasoning and a suggestion for you to act on, so the writing stays with you. Its home page mentions both a 7-day and a 14-day trial.

Peec AI

Peec AI’s instructions page for AI lists Starter at $95 a month for 50 prompts, Pro at $245 for 150 and Advanced at $495 for 350, each with three models of your choice and daily tracking. Its pricing page shows the same plans and prompt counts, lists Enterprise with "Up to 13 LLM models tracked", API access and single sign-on, and offers a free trial. The prices did not show in the page text we could read, so they are taken from the instructions page.

Peec AI tracks more prompts than Agentcites from its Pro plan up, tracks daily, and lets you choose which three models to watch. Its instructions page says it is "not a content-generation" tool "by design" and that it "deliberately does not write or publish content itself".

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

Semrush’s knowledge base page prices the AI Visibility Toolkit at $99 a month and says it "does not offer a free trial". It includes 25 prompts for prompt tracking, one project, and AI search checks in Site Audit for up to 100 pages. It tracks prompts "on platforms like Google AI Mode and ChatGPT", and the page does not give the full list.

Its strength is that it sits inside Semrush, so a team already paying for SEO data sees AI visibility next to its rankings. The page does not say that the toolkit writes pages.

Agentcites

Agentcites costs $149 a month per website, with up to 50 questions, weekly scans and up to 50 drafted pages a month, as the pricing page shows. It asks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and DeepSeek today. The first scan of a new website is free and needs no card. It asks 20 of your questions to four assistants, once. It keeps every answer word for word, counts questions that name you apart from those that do not, says why each question was lost, and drafts a page for a loss a page could win.

It is built for depth on fewer assistants rather than breadth. It checks weekly, where four of the other six say on their pages that they check daily. It asks four assistants, not Google AI Overviews, Copilot or Claude. It has no API and no single sign-on. It does not yet tell you whether a page you published changed the answers.

Scrunch

Scrunch’s pricing page lists two plans, read on 11 October 2026. Core is $250 a month for 125 prompts across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot, with a 7-day free trial. Enterprise is priced on request, with a custom number of prompts, nine assistants including Claude, Gemini, Meta AI and Grok, single sign-on and API access.

Scrunch tracks more prompts than Agentcites at its entry price, and asks Google AI Overviews and Copilot, which Agentcites does not. Its approach to fixing is different from writing a page, and it is covered in the section on the fix below.

AthenaHQ

AthenaHQ’s pricing page offers a free Essential tier with 300 credits across five assistants: ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini and Copilot. Starter is $295 a month for 3,600 credits and lists eleven assistants and models by name, including Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral. The page says "1 credit = 1 AI response". API access is a paid add-on on Starter, and SAML and OIDC sign-on are on Enterprise.

It is the only tool here with a lasting free tier, and its paid plan covers the most named assistants in this list. Starter includes a "Content optimization agent".

Profound

Profound’s pricing page offers a free trial of "50 prompts run daily for 7 days" on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. Enterprise is priced on request and lists nine engines, including Perplexity, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek, Claude and Exa Search, with single sign-on and an API.

Profound covers the widest set of engines on its Enterprise plan and sells the sign-on and API a large company asks for. Its agents page says its agents "generate optimized drafts, and publish directly to your CMS".

Measuring only, or helping you fix it

The tools split into those that measure and suggest, and those that write or change something for you. Which you want depends on whether you have someone to do the writing.

What each tool’s own pages say it does after it finds a loss, read 10 October 2026.
ToolWhat it does after a lossSource
OtterlyAIGives a reasoning and a suggestion for you to act onHelp centre
Peec AISays it does not write or publish content, by designInstructions page
Semrush AI Visibility ToolkitNot stated on the toolkit pageKnowledge base
AgentcitesSays why each loss happened, then drafts a page you publishPricing and features pages
ScrunchServes AI bots a structured version of your pages at the CDNAgent experience page
AthenaHQA content optimization agent on StarterPricing page
ProfoundAgents that draft articles and publish to your CMSAgents page

Scrunch’s agent experience page says it detects AI retrieval traffic and routes those visits to an "AI-optimized experience", while "Humans keep the full experience". It also says Google and Bing indexing crawlers still see your normal site. That is a different kind of fix from a new page that people and assistants both read.

Draft

Illustrative.

Not published

How do I schedule a month of social media posts in advance?

To schedule a month of posts, write them in one sitting, pick a date and a platform for each, and let the scheduler publish them on time. Check the calendar once a week for anything that needs to change.

FeaturePostprismThe winner
Content calendarOne calendar for every platformOne per platform
Platforms supported[YOUR PLATFORM_COUNT] platforms6 platforms
Posts scheduled ahead[YOUR SCHEDULE_LIMIT] daysNot stated
Accounts on the free plan[YOUR FREE_ACCOUNT_LIMIT] accountsNot stated

The marked cells are blanks for you to fill. The draft would not guess your numbers.

What a written fix looks like in Agentcites, which we make: a page drafted for one lost question, with a marked blank where a figure only the business knows is missing. Illustrative.

How to choose between AI visibility tools

Pick the criterion that matters most to you, and let it decide. No tool here leads on every one.

  1. If cost to start is the deciding factor, OtterlyAI at $29 or AthenaHQ’s free tier is the cheapest entry in this list.
  2. If you need the most assistants, AthenaHQ’s paid plan and Profound’s Enterprise plan name the most.
  3. If you need hundreds of prompts, Peec AI’s largest standard plan and OtterlyAI’s Premium plan track 350 or more, and Scrunch’s Enterprise plan sets its own number.
  4. If your team already lives in Semrush, its toolkit keeps everything in one place.
  5. If you have nobody to write the pages, look at the tools that write or change something: Agentcites, AthenaHQ, Profound or Scrunch.
  6. If you need single sign-on and an API today, Profound, Scrunch, AthenaHQ and Peec AI offer them on their larger plans. Agentcites does not.

Each assistant cited many sites that none of the other three cited.

Share of the sites each assistant cited that no other of the four cited, in percent. Two local categories, with 100 ranking questions each, such as the best auto repair shops in Toronto.

  • Auto repair
  • Dentists
35%
40%
55%
54%
62%
68%
63%
54%
ClaudeGeminiGPTPerplexity
Data: Chen and others, preprint, section 5.2.5, Cross-Model Domain Diversity in Local Services. Not peer reviewed.Agentcites

Whatever you pick, ask to see the answer behind any figure. A count you cannot open is a count you have to take on trust.

Answers change from run to run. A study by SparkToro and Gumshoe, reported by Search Engine Journal, found the same brand list came back less than 1 per cent of the time across repeated runs. A tool that reports a single ranking position is reporting one draw from a moving set. The method page explains how Agentcites handles that.

What this comparison leaves out

It covers seven tools, read from their own pages on one day. Prices and plans in this category change often, so check each page before you buy.

  • It does not test the tools. Nothing here measures whether one tool’s counts are more accurate than another’s.
  • It does not include every tool. Ahrefs, HubSpot and others have AI visibility products not listed here.
  • It does not weigh reviews, support or ease of use, because none of those can be read from a pricing page.
  • It treats "Not stated" as unknown. A tool may do something its pages do not mention.

The comparison pages set Agentcites against five of these tools one at a time, with the same rule about sources.

How we measured this

This comparison was written on 10 October 2026. Every fact about another tool was read that day from its own pricing, product, knowledge base or help pages, which are linked in the text and under Sources. Peec AI’s prices were taken from its instructions page because they did not appear in the pricing page text we could read. Facts about Agentcites come from its own pricing page and product feature list.

The criteria were set before the tools were listed, and none is weighted. Tools are ordered by lowest published monthly price, which places Agentcites fourth. The comparison does not test accuracy, does not cover every tool on the market, and does not cover reviews or support. Where a page did not state something, the table says "Not stated" rather than guessing.

Questions

What are AI visibility tools?

They ask AI assistants the questions your buyers ask and count how often your brand is named and your pages are cited. Some also suggest or write fixes.

What is the cheapest AI visibility tool?

Of the seven read on 10 October 2026, OtterlyAI had the lowest paid start at $29 a month for 15 prompts, and AthenaHQ had a free tier with 300 credits.

Which AI visibility tool covers the most assistants?

AthenaHQ’s Starter plan lists eleven assistants and models by name, and Profound’s Enterprise plan lists nine engines. Agentcites asks four today.

Do AI visibility tools write content?

Some do. Profound and AthenaHQ describe content agents, and Agentcites drafts a page per loss. Peec AI says it does not write content by design, and OtterlyAI gives suggestions.

Is Agentcites the best AI visibility tool?

Not on every criterion. It checks weekly, asks four assistants and has no API. It keeps every answer word for word and drafts the page for a loss, at $149 a month per website.

Sources

  1. OtterlyAI, pricing, read 10 October 2026
  2. OtterlyAI help centre, AI recommendations, read 10 October 2026
  3. Peec AI, pricing, read 10 October 2026
  4. Peec AI, instructions for AI, read 10 October 2026
  5. Semrush knowledge base, AI Visibility Toolkit, read 10 October 2026
  6. Scrunch, pricing, read 10 October 2026
  7. Scrunch, agent experience platform, read 10 October 2026
  8. AthenaHQ, self-serve pricing, read 10 October 2026
  9. Profound, pricing, read 10 October 2026
  10. Profound, agents, read 10 October 2026
  11. Search Engine Journal, AI recommendations change with nearly every query, read 10 October 2026
  12. Chen and others, Generative Engine Optimization: How to Dominate AI Search, preprint, read 11 October 2026